/ 0
Table of contents

Document in text mode:

IASbaba.com Iasbaba.com Page 1 Indian Literature – Vedic, Buddhist, Jain and Sanskrit Vedic Literature The Vedas are said to have been passed on from one generation to the next through verbal transmission and are, therefore, also known as Shruti (to hear) or revelation. The term Vedic literature means the four Vedas in their Samhita and the allied literature based on or derived from the Vedas. We classify the Vedic literature into the following categories: I. The four Vedas i.e. the Rig, Sama, Yajur and Atharva and their Samhitas. II. The Brahmanas attached to each Samhita. III. The Aranyakas. IV. The Upanishads. Shruti Literature and Smriti Literature  The Vedic literature is broadly divided into two categories viz. Shruti and Smriti.  Shruti is “that which has been heard” and is canonical, consisting of revelation and unquestionable truth, and is considered eternal.  Shruti describes the sacred texts comprising the central canon of Hinduism viz. Vedas, Brahmanas, Aranyakas, & Upan...